Amazon AWS: AWS Reveals 32 Cities Where It Will Open Local Zones

Feb 18, 2022 | Posted by Abdul-Rahman Oladimeji

Amazon Web Services has announced the 32 cities where it plans to open Local Zones Edge locations. AWS’ Local Zones are Edge locations that host applications which need low latency to on-premises installations or end-users. Each Local zone offers specific services like database, storage, or compute close to population centers for applications that are latency-sensitive which are usually where the company has an existing data center footprint. 

The company revealed that it would launch new AWS Local Zones in 32 new cities in 26 different countries. AWS plans to build new Local Zones in Athens, Amsterdam, Auckland, Bengaluru, Bangkok, Brisbane, Bogota, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Brussels, Brisbane, Chennai, Helsinki, Hanoi, Delhi, Johannesburg, Lisbon, Lima, Kolkata, Manila, Lisbon, Lima, Perth, Munich, Oslo, Nairobi, Toronto, Santiago, Rio de Janeiro, Prague, Queretaro, Warsaw, Vienna, Vancouver, and Toronto. However, AWS didn’t reveal the order in which it will roll out the zones.